01
Aug
10

Which is the Correct Denomination?


Have you ever thought to yourself, why are there so many denominations?  And if so, have you ever thought which denomination is the correct one? Well, I know I have. I grew up thinking that my denomination was going to be the only one in heaven. Then about two years ago, I started wondering; why so many denominations? Are all the other denominations really going to Hell? Then I realized it’s not about the name on your door. It’s about Christ. Let’s look at what the apostle Paul said in the first letter to the church in Corinth.                                                                                                        

1 Corinthians 1 : 10-17

10 I appeal to you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and the same judgment. 11 For it has been reported to me by Chloe’s people that there is quarreling among you, my brothers. 12 What I mean is that each one of you says, “I follow Paul,” or “I follow Apollos,” or “I follow Cephas,” or “I follow Christ.” 13 Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul? 14 I thank God that I baptized none of you except Crispus and Gaius, 15 so that no one may say that you were baptized in my name. 16 (I did baptize also the household of Stephanas. Beyond that, I do not know whether I baptized anyone else.) 17 For Christ did not send me to baptize but to preach the gospel, and not with words of eloquent wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.

 Ok… Maybe Paul, Apollos, and Cephas weren’t teaching different denominational things,  (or maybe they were) but it is the same concept now days. Alot of people will not even listen to what someone from another denomination says just because they say, “I am a baptist” or “I am a methodist” or “I am a pentecostal.” Let me ask the same question Paul asked, “Is Christ divided?” The focal point of the entire New Testament is Christ. Let’s look at one of my favorite quotes from the Apostle Paul.

Philippians 1:15-18

15 Some indeed preach Christ from envy and rivalry, but others from good will. 16 The latter do it out of love, knowing that I am put here for the defense of the gospel. 17 The former proclaim Christ out of rivalry, not sincerely but thinking to afflict me in my imprisonment. 18 What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in that I rejoice.

Paul is rejoicing in the fact that Jesus is proclaimed, even if it is in mockery! Lord, let me keep this concept!

I don’t really know why or how all of these denominations formed. Maybe it is because we interpret things differently. Or maybe it could be that we just listen to what people say all our lives and never search anything out for ourselves. Maybe some people need to feel the hype to know God is real, so they join in with that type of congregation. Maybe some people can just believe in Christ without ever feeling the hype at all. Or maybe some people need to just feel His touch just ever so often to assure themselves that He is real. But the focus has to be leading people to Christ and showing them how to study. Then leave it in God’s hands and let Him do the rest. But teach them how to study the Bible.

Philippians 2: 12-16

12 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, 13 for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure. 14 Do all things without grumbling or questioning, 15 that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 16 holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain.

 

0 Responses to “Which is the Correct Denomination?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

